All photos on this blog are property of Pat Anthony
unless otherwise stated.
If you live a vegan lifestyle you know how serious it is to those who share your concerns about food. When we bake we are always able to make substitutions-but some are surprised to hear what we use!
Today we made a pile of cookies using a recipe right off the oatmeal box. Instead of butter we use a vegan margarine. Easy to find, but it does not say on the package that it is vegan. There are many available-just read the labels and you will see there is no animal product in many margarine products. You can also use nut butters, such as almond butter or peanut butter as a substitute.
To skip the eggs-easy to do. We have always left the eggs out of the recipes and instead used applesauce or pumpkin. My grandmother often used substitutions because at the time there was no such thing as going to the store to get what you wanted when you ran out of something!
We use nuts in many recipes and our cookies are no exception. For chocolate chips some use carob chips which are available in health food store. We don't like carob-we like chocolate! And here's the deal on chocolate: It does not to contain milk. Even milk chocolate does not have to contain milk. Read the ingredients on a package of Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips:
Ingredients: Semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, unsweetened chocolate, cocoa butter, soy lecithin-an emulsifier, vanilla).
Many who are vegan would avoid this product because it does say on the bag the chips are made in a facility that processes milk.
Some don't know that cocoa butter does not have butter made from milk. It is actually the vegetable fat that is produced from the cacoa bean. Some pronounce it coco butter and mistakenly think it is from the coconut.
So you can be vegan and have your chocolate too!
Visit our website
eHow And Members
8 years ago